School of Architecture College of Design

SALA Prize and BS Program Prize Award Recipients


This year the jury was fortunate to be able to award two prizes to Studio 03 students in the Bachelor of Science in Architecture Program.



SALA Prize: Adam Hunt
Jury comments: The jury was impressed with the clarity of project development from the earliest foam, cardboard, and chip board models to the final model and drawings. In particular they were pleased with the active role assigned to structure in the project. They appreciated the parallel role played by structural elements in the building and the structure of the Langsworth beehive box. These elements combined to underscore the high level of competency, rigor, and sophistication evident in the project.

BS Program Prize co-recipients: Shreya Ghoshal and Amanda Stevens
Jury comments: The jury was impressed with the unique way the team integrated knowledge from previous studios into this particular project. It was evident that their informed and creative understanding of site, material development and program combined to make this a most complex and beautiful project. The jury also appreciated the ability of team members to employ basic drawings (plan, section, elevations) as well as photographs of landscape elements to great effect and unique advantage. In the end the jury celebrated the team's creative vision, overall direction and well-crafted visual imagery. 




The jurors for the SALA and BS Program Prizes were: 
Katie Leaf, SALA Architects, Associate AIA
John Comazzi, UMN School of Architecture, Associate Professor
Andrew Lucia, UMN School of Architecture, 2015-2016 Cass Gilbert Visiting Assistant Professor


School of Architecture
145 Rapson Hall
89 Church Street
Minneapolis, MN 55455

Fax: 612-624-5743


Contact Information

Undergraduate Student Services
12 McNeal Hall, 1985 Buford Ave., St. Paul, MN 55108
107 Rapson Hall, 89 Church Street SE, Minneapolis, MN 55455
P: 612-624-1717 | E:

General Information
P: 612-626-9068 | E:

© 2020 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer. Privacy Statement