Designed by Kai Salmela (M.Arch '13), the mark is an abstraction of the three different buildings that have housed the architecture school throughout its 100 year history The interior of the mark references the floor plans of the school's three buildings: Lind Hall, Rapson Hall, and Rapson Hall with the Steven Holl addition. The logo is represented primarily in black. Black is bold and timeless. It is the color of ink pens and architectural drawings.
History of Architecture Buildings
From 1913 - 1960, the Institute of Technology housed the architecture program in Lind Hall. In 1960, the School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture moved to what was then known simply as the architecture building, designed by Thorshov and Cerny. In 2002, under Dean Thomas Fisher, work was completed on the renovation and expansion of the original building, and it was named in honor of Ralph Rapson, the noted modernist and longtime head of architecture at the University. The current facilities include the original building, which has been completely renovated, and a 50,000 square-foot addition designed by Steven Holl (with Vincent James Associates and Ellerbe Becket), for which Holl recently won a New York Chapter American Institute of Architects (AIA) design award.